Piracy and YOU

Piracy has been making its round again through the courts, and I am curious about my followers thoughts. 

First I would like to point out the most recent court ruling that struck my interest. http://rt.com/usa/ip-constitute-person-copyright-suit-973/

That article states that the unique address given to your PC is not a person, therefore it cannot be the only thing used to say you were the pirate for certain media content. That got me thinking, what is stopping anyone from pirating any content anymore? I would love to watch movies on my time and access new content whenever I want to, so what is stopping me from pirating? 

There is always an ethical argument to “stealing” digital media from companies, but what if the company that produced the movie you want to see made it readily available? What if you could watch a new release from the comfort of your own home? 

Media companies already know that the entirety of the world would pay a premium to see movies from their own home, but what happens to movie theaters if that idea ever comes to fruition? Would they fall or succeed even more? 

I hate the movie theater on opening weekend because of the rude guests, the messy people and having my vision blocked by everyone in front of me. Also, why bring a 4 or 5 year old to a midnight release? I would much much prefer watching a new release from the comfort of my own home and on my big screen. Heck, my ceiling mounted projector can simulate the movie theater just as nicely, aside from the annoying crowd.

Don’t get me wrong, I love enjoying a movie with people that are considerate of others and people that don’ text and talk during the entire movie. But that situation only happens once in a blue moon.

So with this small rant, how do you all feel about piracy and peer to peer content vs waiting 8 months to see the movie on dvd? I am really interested in seeing the conversation about this topic so chime in and don’t be afraid to voice your opinion.